| Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 2016

Language Translation: Bing | Google
learn travel teach Center for Global Education at UCLA

City Guide

Information about Tokyo and competition venues are provided below.


Tokyo Metropolis is located in the southern Kanto region positioned approximately in the center of Japanese archipelago. It is bordered to the east by the Edogawa River and Chiba Prefecture, to the west by mountains and Yamanashi Prefecture, to the south by the Tamagawa River and Kanagawa Prefecture, and to the north by Saitama Prefecture.

The 23 special-ward area is the political, economic, and cultural hub of Japan. Government offices, corporations, and commercial facilities are concentrated in the heart of Tokyo, and the transportation network is well developed. The bay area is a transportation and logistics hub, with regional transportation infrastructure that includes a major international airport and port. Cultural facilities such as museums and art galleries, as well as sightseeing and entertainment facilities are located in these 23 special-ward areas, making this location a bustling place with many visitors. The 23 wards of Tokyo are Adachi, Arakawa, Bunkyo, Chiyoda, Chuo, Edogawa, Itabashi, Katsushika, Kita, Koto, Meguro, Minato, Nakano, Nerima, Ota, Setagaya, Shibuya, Shinagawa, Shinjuku, Suginami, Sumida, Toshima, and Taito.

Chiyoda, Chuo, Minato, Shibuya, Shinjuku, Meguro, and Shinagawa form Central Tokyo.

  • ● Chiyoda includes the electronics center Akihabara, the business center Akasaka, and the Imperial Palace
  • ● Chuo includes the famous shopping area of Ginza and the fish market of Tsukuji
  • ● Minato includes the port district of Odaiba, the exclusive district of Roppongi and the skyscraper district of Shiodome
  • ● Shibuya is a fashionable shopping district
  • ● Shinjuku includes large camera stores, luxury hotels, and skyscrapers
  • ● Meguro is a residential area with quite a few museums
  • ● Shinagawa is a business center.

Sumida, Toshima, Taito, Bunkyo, and Koto form downtown Tokyo.

  • ● Sumida includes the sumo district of Ryogoku
  • ● Toshima includes the train hub of Ikebukuro
  • ● Taito and Bunkyo form the heart of downtown and includes the museums of Ueno and the temples of Asakusa
  • ● Koto is known for its woodlands and the two rivers between which it is located.
    • Adachi, Arakawa, Itabashi, Kita, Nakano, Nerima, Ota, Setagaya, and Suginami are suburbs.

      Tokyo 2020 Games competition zones

      Watch the video to learn more about the Tokyo Games venues:


      For more information about city attractions in Tokyo, visit the link below:


      We welcome any questions, feedback, or suggestions you may have regarding this website or other resources. Please contact us.